Posted by: riptide | July 28, 2006

Overtime Sucks


Dollar Sign

I think America needs to cut overtime out. We are working to hard and forgetting our families. We spend more time at the office, and not at home. For some home is just a place to sleep. What happened to the normal work week. Isn’t that enough of our time.

Its one thing to ask me to work hard during my 40 hours but don’t expect me to come in on my time. I understand your paying me more because your using my time just don’t get used to it or abuse it. How in the world do you tell me that overtime is mandatory… Don’t make me laugh in your face. Money isn’t everything. I love my peace of mind. I just need a job to pay for a place to stay, and food to eat. If I didn’t have to drive to work I don’t think I would have a car (that’s a lie I like driving too much). I only have a job to pay my bills, and to support my interests.

The Bible tells us “If a man will not work, he shall not eat.” With all school of thoughts and practicality, this is true. Even the famous proverb ” give a man a fish feed him for a day, teach a man to fish feed him for a life time” applies to this. But I digress from my point. If everyone worked hard for their 40 hours during the week, I don’t think that anyone would be yelling mandatory overtime, unless there just greedy (some managers I know).

I think that the only situations that call for mandatory over time are after a natural disaster, when infrastructure needs to be rebuilt. Another reason would be at the launch of a new product, or a traveling to a company meeting out of town, or fell way behind on work due to technical difficulties, also if your working on a holiday (I love those days). But don’t demand that I come in for overtime, because someone made a mistake, or the company wants to be greedy. I care for the company and would like for them do the same for me. Yes benefits are great, but also my mental health should always be considered.

What happened to the days when the CEO cared about the workers families, and also the company. What happened to moderation in all things, did we forget about that and toss that to the side for the love of making money. Remember the love of money is the root of all evil. We need to stop focusing on the job and focus on our husbands, wives, children, friends, and families. The things in life that brings real joy and happiness into our lives.

Leave a Reply

Categories

