Posted by: riptide | January 21, 2009

Underwater Vacation


 

Hi all I know it’s been a while but I think I’ll pick blogging back up. To start off the 2009 year with a bang a buddy and I went to Key West to do some diving. We both were already in Florida for the Christmas holiday so we just packed up and went in my dad’s truck to Key West. After a near 3 hour drive we arrived at Lost Reef Adventure off Margaret Street. If you are ever down there I recommend that you dive with them they are a very fun and safe crew. The dive instructor had plenty of jokes to last the whole day. He was energetic and very friendly. The 4 dives  didn’t seem to cost too much in my opinion. 

If you’ve been diving before you know that it is the perfect way to relax and enjoy life. It was so peaceful out on the ocean and under the water. The only regret I do have is not being able to see the bull or nurse sharks that are normally in the reef area around the Keys.  I did see plenty of the wild life down there i.e. eels, lobsters, crabs, parrot fish, yellow tail snapper, etc.  The reef itself was amazing to see up close and personal, watching it eat, hide, or whatever it does when someone swim by it was a great experience. 

I would not advise anyone to stay in Key West during the Holiday season the hotel prices are sky high! We paid $200+ a night at a Days Inn and that was including an AAA discount! No wonder Florida’s economy is going down, not only because of the slowing tourism but because of the outrageous prices.

Now my check list for next dive trip:

  • Waterproof Dive bag for clothes
  • Dive watch
  • Waterproof Camera

Stay tuned for my next post!

Leave a Reply

Categories

